24
May
12

The risks of chivalry

a. The qualities idealized by knighthood, such as bravery, courtesy, honor, and gallantry toward women.
b. A manifestation of any of these qualities.

My husband is always chivalrous – and I really appreciate it – it makes me feel special and cared for.

Some of the small acts of chivalry that I have come to love and accept on a daily basis are things like him opening the car door for me; standing aside to let me exit the elevator or the room first; standing up when I return to the restaurant table; and walking on the side of the pavement nearest to the road to protect me from encountering a possible misfortune from any wayward/straying vehicles.

Only problem is – some of these precious moments of love and care and protection may have some unforeseen consequences as they are acted upon here in Shanghai.

Picture the following scenes:

  • A lovely dinner, I go to the wash-room and return to the table, he stands up politely to welcome me back: ….and then… the waitresses descend upon the table to clear it for the next set of hungry diners that are queuing up outside the restaurant.
  • The elevator/metro doors open and he stands aside, arm behind me to usher me through the door: ….and then… I get run over and trampled on by the mob of people trying to get on board the lift/train who don’t wait for anyone to exit before they storm inside.
  • We walk along the pavement, he walks on the side next to the road, watching out for any danger from the road: ….and then… I get taken out from behind by a motorcyclist travelling against the traffic flow who is using the pavement as a short-cut to avoid the traffic jam on the road.
  • The taxi pulls up, he rushes over to open the door for me: ….and then… I get knocked over by a bicycle coming up on the inside of the taxi.
6 Responses to “The risks of chivalry”


  1. May 24, 2012 at 16:54

    Dawn – This so tickled my sense of humour this morning that I’m about to share it on Facebook if I can. Hope that’s OK. So much for chivalry then… if it leads to all this… 🙂

    • May 24, 2012 at 20:19

      Glad it appealed to your sense of humour Laura – I am still holding the banner for chivalry in spite of the potential pitfalls! I always knew there was a good reason that the knights of old wore suits of armour – maybe us damsels should get some too!

  2. June 30, 2012 at 00:06

    Your husband sounds the perfect gent, not may of them left!!!

  3. July 5, 2012 at 05:27

    Chivalrous guys are awesome, and hard to come by! My husband is one of them!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Calendar

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

